top of page

Toffee Almond Crunch

Toffee, we all love it, but let's be honest; it isn't something you think of going in the kitchen to make very often, if at all. Admittedly, I've always been a bit afraid to attempt making any form of candy after my praline debacle some years ago. After that epic failure, I had just resolved myself to leaving candy making to the professionals. In fact, I'm not even sure what prompted me to jump out of bed on a Monday morning and try my hand at making of all things, toffe. BUT, I want to encourage you that it's not as hard as you may think, in fact, it's SUPER SIMPLE. I suppose the bright side it, I've probaby saved myself thousands in dental bills, so I'm okay with that :).

Now, about the toffee; I for one, am all about quality when it comes to preparing things. In this case, quality of ingredients is of the utmost importance, so spend the extra buck on the non-gmo organic ingredients; you won't regret it. You will see in the ingredients that I used Marcona almonds; they have become my new favorite snack. The light and crispy texture of the almond and delicate flavor is something I thoroughly enjoy. I used 85% dark chocolate here; it's bittersweet, and provides a great balance for the sweetness of the toffee itself. Remember to always create balance when you're creating any dish; the distinction of different flavor and notes does something to your mood when at least three of the four taste receptors (bitter, sweet, salty, sour) are triggered. Lastly, take your time when eating this piece of heaven; you may want to eat it like popcorn, but take your time and savor each and every bite. Don't forget to share with friends, I don't need to tell you what eating an excess of calories can do to you :). Enjoy!

Butter Toffee Almond Crunch

1 cup non dairy butter

1.5 cups granulated sugar

3 tbsp water

1 tbsp light corn syrup

1 cup marcona almonds, chopped

1 cup dairy free chocolate chips

1/2 cup sliced almonds

In a medium sauce pan over high to medium heat, whisk together non dairy butter, sugar, water, and corn syrup until sugar dissolves. Discontinue stirring and allow mixture to come to a boil. Boil mixture without stirring until it reaches 300 degrees (using a candy thermometer), or until mixture turns a deep Amber (appr. 6 minutes). You can also test mixture by taking a small spoonful and dropping it into a glass of cool water, if it turns into a hard ball, it's ready. Be careful not to over cook; candy will turn very quickly. As soon as you've verified that it's reached the hardball stage, immediately remove from heat and set aside.

On a cookie sheet lined with parchment paper, scatter marcona almonds over 8 square inches or so. Pour the toffee over almonds, wait three minutes, then sprinkle with chocolate chips. After one minute, use a spatula to evenly spread the chocolate over the toffee. Scatter the sliced almonds over the melted chocolate, using the clean side of the spatula to gently press them into the melted chocolate. Allow mixture to cool completely. Once chocolate has set, break into pieces and enjoy. Toffee can be stored in an airtight container for up to one week.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page