top of page

Sock It To Me...Cake

Cake, it's something I could probably eat everyday of my life without becoming bored. However, my waistline and arteries would beg to differ. When I was a child, I would stay inside and help my mom and/or grandma cook and bake while my siblings were outside playing. Now most would say that my choices were pretty odd, but I beg to differ. I had a motive, it's called greed, lol. I mean, staying inside meant benefits; free samples, licking the spoon, etc. Sounds like a no brainer when you compare it to going outside and being bullied, lol. Oh don't feel sorry for me, I got lots of great knowledge in return with cooking lessons :). You see this pic down below? Well those are the beaters slathered with cake batter, and yes, I ate that batter, hahahaahahaha. As you can see, the batter is quite thick, but fret not, this will be a cake to remember.

Beaters with cake batter

I remember growing up almost always having dessert, and it ranged from cakes, to cookies, to cobblers. One of my absolute favorite cakes to make was a sock it to me cake. It was simple enough and made from cake mix, so my mom would always allow me to make it because it was so simple. As time progressed she began to entrust me with more complicated tasks, and scratch cakes became my new favorite pastime.

When I became vegan, I tried, and tried, and TRIED to make a homemade pound cake without much success. I was determined to perfect a recipe because this, besides ice cream, was one of the things I really missed eating. Well, after countless attempts I finally got it right, so now I must share with you. You're welcome. I really hope you enjoy this cake as much as I did. It's pretty simple and straight forward, and perfect for first time bakers.

Bundt Cake

The crumb is tender and moist, but still has the look, taste, and feel of a classic pound cake. Enjoy!

Sock It To me Cake

Sock It To Me Cake

Ingredients

2 cups non hydrogenated Shortening

3 cups granulated sugar

18 tbsp aquafaba (chickpea juice) *note, I used all the juice from a 14oz can

1 tbsp pure vanilla extract

1 tbsp butter extract

3 cups all purpose flour

1/4 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp salt

1 cup vegan sour cream

Filling

1/2 cup chopped pecans

2tbsp brown sugar

2 tbsp cinnamon

1 tbsp all purpose flour

Glaze

1 cup confectioner's sugar

2 tbsp nut milk

1/4 tsp pure vanilla extract

Directions

Cream shortening and sugar until light and fluffy. Add in aquafaba (chick pea juice) three tbsp at a time, beating well after each addiction. Add in extract and blend until fully incorporated. Add in one baking soda and salt along with one cup of flour and beat until incorporated. Then add in sour cream and flour alternately, being sure to end with flour.

Grease and flour a Bundt pan, spoon half of the batter into pan, spread filling evenly over batter, then cover with remaining batter! Bake at 350 degrees for 1 hour and ten minutes, or until toothpick comes out clean.

Once cake has cooled, combine powdered sugar, nut milk, and extract with a whisk until smooth. Pour over cake and serve warm.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page