top of page

Fried Apple Pies!!!

I have a confession! I ate all three of those apple pies. Yes, I ate them. Now before you judge me...okay, okay, you have a right to judge me...sort of. BUT, I challenge you to make these pies and not do the same thing I did, eat fried apple pies for both dinner and dessert. If you do, you must promise to give the rest away, just as I did. Deal? Great, now let's get on with it.

Fried Apple Pies

Before going vegan, I was a caterer and creator of all things dessert. One of my jobs was to think of the most decadent, cholesterol latent, fat filled, gooey treats and I must admit, I was pretty darn good at it. In the spirit of full disclosure I must admit that I'm not quite clear of those urges that inspire me to create yummy goodness. Why should this matter to you? Well, I'm letting you in on my secrets, that's why. In exchange, I want you to share with all of your friends and family, as this goodness must be enjoyed by the masses.

This dish is less that healthy, so please try not to go overboard 😀

Fried Apple Pies

Ingredients

For Filling: 6 Granny Smith apples, peeled, cored, and diced

4 cups cold water

juice from one lemon

2 tbsp vegan butter of your choice

2 tbsp light brown sugar

2 tbsp granulated sugar

1 tsp cinnamon

For Crust:

3 c AP flour

1/2 tsp salt

2 tbsp granulated sugar

1 tsp baking powder

1/2 cup vegan butter (cold)

1/2 tsp distilled vinegar

1 tbsp aquafaba

2-4 tbsp cold water

For Frying:

2 cups vegetable oil

plus cinnamon and sugar for dusting

Directions

Soak peeled, cored, and diced apples in water and lemon juice for 5 minutes. Drain then add apples along with the remaining ingredients to a medium saucepan over medium to high heat, stirring constantly. Cook apples for 7-8 minutes, or until tender, then remove from heat and allow to cool. In a food processor, add flour, salt, sugar, baking powder and vegan butter and pulse until mixture is crumbly. Add vinegar and aquafaba along with 2 tbsp of cold water and pulse. Continue adding water one tablespoon at a time until mixture forms a ball. Remove dough from food processor and form into a ball, then flatten to form a disc; the dough will be very soft. Wrap dough tightly with saran wrap and refrigerate for 20-30 minutes.

Remove dough from fridge, unwrap, and roll out on flour surfaced with rolling pin to about 1/8 of an inch thickness. Put oil in small saucepan and heat to 325°. Cut out circles of dough, 3-4in in width and add 1.5 tsp of cooked apples to the center. Dip a pastry brush in water and brush the edges of circles with water, fold dough in half, making sure to keep filling in the center of the circle, then use a fork to press down and seal the edges.

Gently place 1-2 pies in oil and allow them to fry for 1-2 minutes per side, or until golden brown. Transfer to clean paper towel and allow oil to drain. Top with cinnamon and sugar and enjoy.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page