top of page

Skinny Dipping

When I first decided that vegan would be the best lifestyle for me, I grieved over foods that I just knew I could never have again, spinach artichoke dip was one of those foods. In fact, as I began to compile the list of foods I could no longer have I questioned my decision; I mean after all, was it REALLY that bad for me? The short answer was YES, with my current weight, diagnosis of heart disease, and the risk for type two diabetes looming over me like a mile wide cumulonimbus cloud, the obvious could not be ignored, I needed to change my evil ways. So, I had a food party to say goodbye to all of the things I knew and loved over the past several decades, sucked it up, and put my health first. Now I know I know you're saying, "Dee-Dee, you're crazy! You didn't have to give it up completely." and to that I say, I did, because when you're at risk, any bit of any thing that could take you over the edge is too much.

Vegan Spinach Artichoke Dip

But then came the glorious day when I asked myself, "Can't you just make it vegan? I mean, have you given up on accepting challenges in life?" Imagine that; I had to literally grab myself by the shoulders and shake myself back into reality. The only limits we have are those we place on ourselves. That was over five years ago and since then I've managed to do the undoable, create the seemingly impossible, and share it with you. So if you're new to my blog, welcome, and if you've been along for the ride for any amount of time, you probably expected this...another vegan breakthrough. lol

Fresh Spinach

Spinach artichoke dip is a comfort food of sorts, it's warm, it's creamy, it's tangy, and in this case, it's pretty healthy too. A win-win, correct? ABSOLUTELY CORRECT! You get all the mouth feel of cheese but none of the artery clogging cholesterol, and the fat from this dish is healthy fat, so indulge. Here comes the most exciting part, you can whip this stuff up in no time and at minimal cost, so let's get into it. Let's go skinny dipping :).

Artichokes

Spinach Artichoke Dip

Ingredients:

1/2 a heaping cup of raw cashews

1 cup water (plus more if needed at the end)

1/4 cup tapioca starch

1 tbsp nutritional yeast

1/2 tsp granulated garlic

1/2 tsp granulated onion

1 tsp salt

1 jar of seasoned artichokes, drained and chopped

2 cups fresh organic spinach

Directions:

Place first seven ingredients in a high speed blender and blend until completely smooth ( about 90 seconds). In a non-stick medium saucepan over medium to high heat, add cashew mixture and use a wooden spoon to stir constantly. Initially it will seem like a culinary disaster, lumpy and impossible, but DON'T GIVE UP, glory is on the way. Continue stirring until mixture becomes smooth and stretchy, add artichokes and spinach, turn heat down to low and continue stirring until spinach wilts and artichokes are heated through. If mixture is too thick, add more water to thin out to desired consistency and serve warm.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page