top of page

Today Show

Well, it has been a very busy summer, I appeared on the Today Show cooking up some of my favorites with Hoda and Kathy Lee, I launched a new plant-based ice cream line (more information to follow), and I'm preparing to release my next cookbook. Now, now, hold your applause, summer isn't over yet so I still have time to find and prove that unicorns exist😝.

We've got several weeks of summer left and peaches and blackberries are readily available, so I'd like to share with you one of the recipes I prepared for the Today Show cast and crew. On set, there was some discussion about whether a vegan cobbler could measure up to what grandma used to make. Well, the verdict is in, and there was an overwhelming vote of approval by everyone; my cobbler won 🌟.

Peach Blackberry Cobbler

Every summer I go peach and berry picking at some of the local farms and bring back loads of fresh fruit to transform into cobblers, smoothies, and a host of other summer treats. The peaches this year were plump, juicy, and plentiful so I made lots of cobbler varieties, and this was my favorite:

Peach Blackberry Cobbler

Preheat oven to 425°

Ingredients

Cobbler

10 medium peaches, sliced

1 quart fresh blackberries

1/2 granulated sugar

1 tbsp cornstarch

1 tbsp fresh lemon juice

1/2 tsp cinnamon

1/2 tsp nutmeg

1/2 tsp pure vanilla extract

Topping

1 cup unbleached all purpose flour

1/2 cup granulated sugar

1 tsp baking powder

pinch of salt

3/4 cup margarine, cold and cubed

1/4 cup boiling water

Finish

1 tbsp granulated sugar

1/2 teaspoon cinnamon

Directions

  1. Toss peaches and berries with sugar, cornstarch, lemon juice, spices, and vanilla extract in a 9x13 inch nonreactive pan and bake for 10 minutes.

  2. While peach mixture is baking stir together flour, sugar, baking powder, and salt. Blend in butter with your fingertips or a pastry blender until mixture resembles coarse meal. Stir in water until just combined.

  3. Remove peach mixture from oven and drop spoonfuls of topping over them. Sprinkle cinnamon sugar mixture over top of cobbler. Bake in middle of oven until topping is golden, about 25 minutes. (Topping will spread as it bakes.)


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page