top of page

Mushroom Marsala

Some days when I get home from work I don't have much energy and I want something quick, easy, tasty, and filling; I want comfort food. Pasta is the perfect quick and easy dish when you're in a time crunch and it takes on the personality and flavor of whatever you decide to pair it with.

Crimini Mushrooms

Mushrooms are one of my favorite foods; they can add so much depth of flavor and texture to dishes, and each has it's own signature. For dishes where I want a meaty flavor and texture I use either Crimini or Shitake mushrooms. For a more neutral flavor, I use button mushrooms, for chicken I use trumpet mushrooms, and oyster mushrooms for a seafood flavor. Now I must clarify that these are my preferences, I invite you to explore to decide which works best for you.

Mushroom Marsala

I used both Crimini and Shitake mushrooms in my Marsala sauce because I love the combination of flavors and textures. As for the pasta, you can used any pasta you like, I prefer one with lots of texture like Mostaccioli or Penne. Make certain that whatever pasta you choose that you add plenty of salt when cooking and not to cook it beyond al dente, there's nothing worse than overdone pasta :).

Mushroom Marsala

Ingredients

1 lb of pasta cooked per manufacturer's instruction

3tbsp extra virgin olive oil

1 cup yellow onion diced

2 cups sliced mushrooms

1tbsp margarine

1tbsp all purpose flour

1/2 cup Marsala wine

1 cup vegetable broth

salt and pepper to taste

Directions In a large saucepan heat extra virgin olive oil then add onions and garlic and cook for 2 minutes. Add mushroom and cook for an additional 2-3 minutes until mushrooms are tender. Add margarine and flour and cook for two minutes, constantly stirring. Add in wine and vegetable broth and cook for 5 minutes, or until sauce begins to thicken. Pour over pasta and serve warm.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page